Class tuition is $1,580.00.
- Tuition includes drug test.
- Central Tech provides all materials and trucks.
- Central Tech will schedule tests and retests.
Students must obtain their Class B permit by the Friday prior to the first day of class. CDL test day is the following Monday after the two-week training.
The written test for the permit must be taken at DPS. You must provide DPS with an original or a certified copy of a state issued birth certificate or passport, and proof of Oklahoma residency. You must take and pass the following tests to obtain your class B permit:
- General Knowledge (Chapters 1, 2, and 3 of the CDL manual)
- Air Brakes (Chapter 5 of the CDL manual)
- Take CDL practice tests here
Hazmat Endorsement (Oklahoma residents):
Central Tech’s entrance requirements reflect trucking industry hiring standards to help ensure that graduates are employable in the trucking industry.
The individual must possess a valid Oklahoma driver’s license. NOTE: Each student will be given the opportunity to obtain an Oklahoma Commercial Driver’s License while in training.
STUDENTS MUST PROVIDE
- An original or a certified copy of their state-issued birth certificate OR passport.
- Proof of legal domicile/residency.
These documents are required each time you interact with the Department of Public Safety.
Federal law requires drivers to be at least 21 years of age to cross a state line. Individuals age 18-21 are able to obtain a CDL license but will be restricted to intrastate driving until the age of 21 years.
Alcohol or Drug-Related: No conviction within the past five (5) years.
Must be able to read and speak the English language fluently enough to converse with the general public, to understand the highway traffic signs and signals, to respond to official inquiries, and make entries on reports and records. Seventh-grade reading and math level recommended.
Specific requirements are detailed on the Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration website: Effective, May 21, 2014, only doctors who registered through the national registry of FMCSA are allowed to do DOT physicals. Download forms MCSA-5878 and MCSA-5876 under New Driver Examination Forms.
General DOT requirements include, but are not limited to, the following:
- Has no loss of a foot, leg, hand, arm, or has no impairment of the use of the foot, leg, hand, fingers, arm, or any other structural defect which interferes with their ability to control and safely drive a motor vehicle.
- Has no established medical history or clinical diagnosis of Diabetes currently requiring insulin for control. (You may be able to obtain an exemption with Federal Motor Carrier)
- Has no current clinical diagnosis of High Blood Pressure likely to interfere with their ability to safely operate a motor vehicle.
- Has no established medical history or clinical diagnosis of Epilepsy or any other condition which is likely to cause unconsciousness or any loss of ability to control a motor vehicle.
Any chargeable accident within the past three (3) years will be subject to review. An accident report will be required.
A student is allowed two (2) moving offenses during the three (3) years prior to their entry date. A student may not have any careless or reckless driving convictions.